A farewell to our General

“General Vo Nguyen Giap has passed away”, I got the news on Facebook yesterday at about 7pm – one hour after his leave. The first thought appeared in my mind that I was happy for him and congratulated on his leave – and yes, I am happy for him now. His time came and he left this world, but always remains in my memory as a great person. I couldn’t count the time tears shed in my eyes when I heard something about him – they weren’t all about his talent, his famous victories but also his weakness. In my eyes, he wasn’t a legendary person, he was a man who usually did what he believed that was the right thing to do.

I wished to share the feeling at that moment with my special friend who would understand exactly how I felt. Now, in the second thought, I believe we did share that moment already, no need to wish. In the other world, perhaps my very sweet friend and him already met.

Some minutes ago, I read a status in which one of my friend said that the people will farewell the General (as we always call him) no matter there will be a state funeral or not, and respectably congrats on his passed away – yeah, that’s all I wanted to say.
The General at his house – picture by Duy Anh

5 thoughts on “A farewell to our General

  1. R.I.P. … read about him passing away on FB, like you … and like Darko I remember him … having read about the Vietnam war and afterwards very well … and may I say, Mit … a very nice and touch post.

  2. Thank you, Anchy, John, Darko and Dirk. The state funeral for him will be on 12th and 13th October but thousands of people have come to his house to say goodbye to him since the day they got the news. That said more than what I could describe, I think.

Enter your comment here :)